Extended Warranty Catalytic Convertors, Dodge Trucks

Recently the Daimler Chrysler Corp settled a lawsuit with the EPA that resulted in an extension of the warranty for catalytic converters on a
number of vehicles between the years of 1996 and 2001.
1997 Dodge Dakota trucks with 3.9 liter engines were included. 1999 Dodge Dakota trucks with 3.9 liter engines were also included. 1998 Dodge Dakota trucks with 3.9 liter engines WERE NOT included.
Warranty was extended based on whether your vehicle had a defective "original design catalytic converter" or a "new design catalytic converter.
I have a 1998 Dodge Dakota, 3.9L that had a catalytic converter failure just as described in the lawsuit settlement. That is the internal cayalyst has come loose and is rattling around in the can. However, Daimler Chrysler has excluded my VIN.
I asked Chrysler to tell me how to differentiate between the "original design catalytic convertor" and the new design so that I could determine which I had and if I am being excluded erroneously. They refuse. I suspect that some 1998 trucks also have the defective catcons and they don't want that can of worms opened.
Two questions. Does anyone know how to tell the difference? ...and...have any owners of 1998 Dodge Dakota trucks had failures of the Catalytic Convertor?
Add pictures here
<% if( /^image/.test(type) ){ %>
<% } %>
Add image file

Motorsforum.com is a website by car enthusiasts for car enthusiasts. It is not affiliated with any of the car or spare part manufacturers or car dealers discussed here. All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.