The "exempts" haven't moved anytime recently that I've heard about. As
far as I'm able to figure out, it's still "if it's newer than 1972, it
gets smogged". Sounds like you've probably done the "just got lucky"
thing, and simply haven't been "drafted". Not sure on the exact numbers
involved, but there does seem to be a "It's come up clean for X years,
so it doesn't need to test again for Y years" thing going on.
Don Bruder - firstname.lastname@example.org - New Email policy in effect as of Feb. 21, 2004.
I respond to Email as quick as humanly possible. If you Email me and get no
A '74 should be exempt if the rolling 30 year exemption is still in force
but they're trying to change it (again):
As explained to me by a freind in the business, if your vehicle is newer
than 1966, it doesn't have to be smogged every two years, just when
changing owners. At least this is the case with my 1970 pick-up.
The 30 year thing is a good cut-off, but leave it to the bureaucrats .
. . . they have too much time on their hands.
This 1974/30 year law was a parting gift from Quentin Kopp when he had
to leave the legislature because of the new term limit thing. He was
always described in the media as a "maverick" and a bit "out there". I
think he was right on, and it's the media which is "out there".
"Do I Really Need A Smog Check?"
Not all vehicles must get a Smog Check. Additionally, some vehicles only
need a Smog Check when they are being sold or being registered in
California after previously being registered in another state. Whether
or not a vehicle needs a Smog Check depends on the type of vehicle, the
model-year, and the area in which the vehicle is registered.
Some vehicles are exempt from the Smog Check program
All 30 and older model-year vehicles are exempt from all aspects of the
Smog Check program, but owners of these vehicles are required by law to
keep their emissions systems intact. Vehicles built in 1975 for the 1976
model-year are 1976 vehicles and must be tested accordingly.
Additionally, vehicles with diesel engines, vehicles with two-cycle
engines, vehicles with engines smaller than 50 cubic inches of
displacement, electric vehicles, and motorcycles are exempt from the
Smog Check program.
New vehicles exempt until their fifth year
Vehicles four model-years old and newer (model-years 2001-2004, for
registrations due after 1/1/2004) are not required to have a biennial
(every other year) Smog Check performed until their fifth year. However,
these vehicles must have a Smog Check performed if the vehicle is sold,
or being registered in California for the first time. Some additional
vehicles might not be required to have a biennial Smog Check performed
if the specifications in the following document are met.
Change of Ownership Areas vs. Basic and Enhanced Areas
Most areas of the state require vehicles to have a Smog Check performed
every two years, when being sold, and when being initially registered in
California. These areas are referred to as the state's Basic and
Enhanced Areas. However, Change of Ownership Areas only require a Smog
Check when the vehicle is being sold or initially registered in
California. You can determine the Smog Check area you are in by calling
the Department of Consumer Affairs/Bureau of Automotive Repair toll-free
at 1-800-952-5210 or by checking the ZIP Code Locator on this website.
Motorsforum.com is a website by car enthusiasts for car enthusiasts. It is not affiliated with any of the car or spare part manufacturers or car dealers discussed here.
All logos and trade names are the property of their respective owners.